Skip to main content


Subject Source: Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
Scope Note: Area of modern Morocco was the Roman province of Mauretania. It was successively invaded by Muslims, Berbers, Spain, Portugal, England and France betweeb the 7th and 20th centuries. It was split between French and Spanish Morocco until the mid-20th century. The West Sahara and Algerian borders are disputed. The official language is Arabic, although several Berber dialects and French are also spoken.

Found in 1 Collection or Record: