Skip to main content

Costa Rica

Subject Source: Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
Scope Note: Inhabited by small, independent tribes of Boruca, Carib, Chorotega, Corobici and Nahua when Columbus landed in 1502; after many battles with native peoples, conquered by Spain in 1563; part of Nicaraguan intendency in 18th century; part of Mexican Empire 1821; official language is Spanish, though a Jamaican dialect of English is also spoken in some places.

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records: