Skip to main content

South Africa

Subject Source: Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
Scope Note: San Bushmen arrived in area 10,000 BCE; Iron Age Bantu-speakers immigrated for centuries until 15th century; Dias arrived on Cape 1488, Dutch 1650s; British and Boer dispute led to war 1899-1902; non-Europeans were granted limited government participation 1983; official languages are Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Pedi, Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu.

Found in 9 Collections and/or Records: